Isabella Tiger Moths


Pyrrharctia isabella, the isabella tiger moth caterpillars are out in force today, I saw no less then a dozen on my short walk. These are different then the virginia tiger moths that were out in force last month that are basically all cream white in color. The Isabellas are often nicknamed wooly bears and folks like to guess how hard the winters will be by the length of their orange stripe.

wooly bear

My walk was actually kind of a hopeful foraging excursion just around the neighborhood. A chance to grab a few apples and hopefully some nuts after the squall of the night before. As expected there were European beechnut shells all over the ground, but no nuts in them. Just the shells. A disappointment but I have heard that the really old beechnut trees have that issue, and these are VERY old trees, planted by the Swedish family who settled this place. It’s a shame because I had hoped to start a few by seed and to eat some roasted.

Beechnut shell

I also found a walnut, or rather it found me, falling as I picked thorough the roadside shells looking for any. I may have narrowly missed a concussion. Good thing I am hard-headed. A few acorns were had as well, although being right on the road most were already crushed but I know to go looking elsewhere for acorns. Perhaps tomorrow I can find enough to make a meal of them. I’m thinking acorn hotcakes with wild apple and cinnamon topping?

I think the coolest find from just my short walk around the neighborhood though was this monster sized chanterelle mushroom. There were several but this was the largest. They were a bit past prime but I have noted the spot and plan to keep looking at it. I was gobsmacked to accidently stumble on this patch. I have only ever found false chanterelles while out looking for them on purpose.

Leave a comment