Beautiful Weather

Lots of good weather happening these days. It makes me think spring is just around the corner. Maybe we will be lucky this year and everything will be early? Maybe climate change will increase our growing season? I say that in the moment, knowing things will be swinging drastically all around. It really is unpredictable and all we can do is plant and plan to our best abilities with hardy plants that can handle the wilder swings. All we can do is save seeds from those plants that survive and thrive in our areas and adapt.

I already have some of my cooler season baby plants sitting out on the covered porch getting used to the temperatures and they haven’t even wilted a tiny bit from the wind. Tough plants indeed. In a few days I will move them into the garden into a cold frame to get them used to the greater light as well. Indoor lights are still not as strong as natural sunlight in the great outdoors.

Inside, I have a bunch of seedlings up and now transferred to their own little pots as of today and it was so nice, I got some new primulas into the garden ground. The other day, I planted a new apple tree- to replace one of the ones the beavers came and ate down. A pink lady apple. I can’t afford to replace all 50 trees yet that the mischievous critters dragged off while I was healing from surgery. So, I will replace a few. And put wire around each one. I have another fruit tree to plant tomorrow, something called a peach plum. 11 lilacs somehow arrived here that also need planting tomorrow, a couple olive trees (pushing the zone, trying to see if I could get these to grow here), a gooseberry, a new rose, and probably a few more things I need to get into the ground quickly. Why I make so much work for myself, I haven’t a clue. I’m starting to think it’s some kind of sickness that I have to always stay busy. I have to get these things done this weekend, as I’m starting up work possibly on Monday with the fish again.

It’s also time for me to start a lot more seeds. A LOT MORE. It’s quite daunting as I type here looking at the pile of seed packets overflowing out of the bucket that I have the ones I need to start this month waiting in. And the indoor jungle needs watering. I do this to myself every year. I will be all jittery and nervous until I have them planted and on their handy little heat mats.

So, what did I transplant to individual containers today?

2/10/2023

  • Rose of Sharons (3 came up, 2 different types. One type hasn’t come up. Will give it a little more time and try more seeds)
  • Verbascum Shades of Summer
  • Yarrow Cerise Queen
  • Carnations- all 3 types I planted the other day.
  • Alpine Aster- A few accidently dried out but I got a good number of them anyway.
  • Green Twister Echinacea
  • Fire Dancer Fire Poker
  • Yucca (I don’t know the type, a friend sent the seeds)
  • English Daisy Mix
  • Blackberry Lily
  • Arnica
  • Celery- Both Chinese Pink and Tall Utah

Outside I planted some mixed primula plants I purchased- 6 of them. They perfume the air so well out here that I add more and more around the farm every year.

Leave a comment