Hellebores

It’s been a strange, but good day and I feel like I am starting to move forward again. I have a job lined up, I was able to walk to the gate and back, and good things just seem to be happening this last week and this one too. It’s uplifting to feel like things are going to be ok, and that things are going fairly smoothly, and I feel a lot of positive vibes floating around. I’ve been the recipient of surprise kindness last week and today as well, some from complete strangers! The weather this week is mostly dry and warmish, flowers are blooming, the goats are playing, and soon I will be able to clean up from the winter floods and start playing in the garden. I honestly have really started to solidify the plans for my little farm, and I can see the path clearly in my mind. It took me a while to get there, I know, and I will have lots of work ahead of me. Before I was wanting to try a bit of everything, but I’ve come to understand I need to pick just a couple things to really focus on. And it’s nothing I can’t handle, and what I physically can’t do, I have friends and sources now where I can hire the help. I’ve had to learn to put pride behind me, though I do struggle with that. It’s a stubborn pride that can be my worst enemy. I always wanted to be superwoman, to prove to the world that I could do anything and everything by myself. I imagine I will have to keep working on this.

Friends and strangers have taught me and continuously do so that around here, it is ok to have a support system, and that it is often necessary. I never minded helping other people, but I’ve always had trouble admitting that I needed it. So that is the big truth 2022 has already taught me. Allow people in.

I don’t know why I started rambling on this subject, I mostly hopped on to show you my hellebores in bloom. You see, I knew they were blooming but I haven’t yet been able to walk over to them to take a peek. But I walked today, all the way down to the gate and where the hellebores grow. So, you see I am getting better. My surgery foot will still take a while to be able to walk without an air cast but it’s getting there with the air cast. I’m able to do a lot more than what I could a few weeks ago. And I’ve even been hanging out with my precious goats. Hellebores, primroses, crocus, pansies, and dwarf dutch iris are all in bloom right now in various places around the farmyard. I’m not really counting the filberts because they are not showy blooms, but technically they are flowering now too. Things are coming alive. Well, anyway, if you’ve made it through this long ramble, here is the picture I wanted to post.

By the way, you will likely see postings more often from me since I have my computer back. I had let a family member borrow it for a while as they didn’t have one so it was a bit of a pain to blog but they have one themselves now so I can hop on whenever I get the itch to overshare now. 🙂

Leave a comment